Understanding evil…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    John
    Participant

Greetings in the name of Jesus,

When I study I try to use the bible to interpret words that I find in the verses I’m studying. Over the years I have learned that there is a literal (outward) understanding of the bible and a spiritual (inward) understanding. It’s the inward understanding that brings life, the letter kills but the spirit brings life.

I have always been taught that God did not create evil. When I apply this teaching to scripture I find it falling short of God’s truth. To think that evil only comes from disobeying God is to miss a very important truth in understanding God’s work and life itself. As you read this study, I pray that the Lord leads you into a deeper understanding of how God works all things together for His purpose and how the rebellious fallen angels can twist the truth of God.

God has created this life in such a way that He gives us freedom to receive life or death, blessings or cursing.

Deuteronomy 30:19-20 "I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live; "that you may love the Lord your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for He is your life and the length of your days; and that you may dwell in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.”

In order to have this choice in life between life and death, blessing or cursing there has to be a positive and negative in life. There has to be an adversary or there is no choice. In other words, we need day in order to have night. We need height in order to have depth. We need evil in order to have good. In God’s creation, He created both good and evil. There has to be an adversarial system to make choices in life, it’s what makes life what it is.